top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShona McCarthy

Kamishichiken

Updated: Mar 16, 2021


By the time I finally got to visit Japan, it was something I had been dreaming of for about 10 years. In those 10 years one of the areas I had visited of dreaming for the longest was Kamishichiken. Yes, the name sounds like some kind of poultry dish. But in fact it's the region of Kyoto where Geisha are said to have originated, and you can see them there to this day!

But I learned that Geisha are far from the only good things to see in the area. It's the same area where you'll find Yokai Dori, the street of Japanese folk monsters. It's also the area where you can find the SOUSHI TSUZURE-EN TEXTILE STUDIO where you can take many classes in Japan's most fine and sophisticated form of weaving. I went to both of these things and in different ways they were both amazing.

If you are thinking the name makes visitors crave fried chicken, you would not be wrong. I found myself wanting to eat some while I was there. So I went to a little eatery and had a delicious meal full of various nutritious foods. Since it's one of the lesser-known areas of Kyoto, I found that shops and restaurants there were more inclined to give cheaper prices on things than the more touristy areas did.


You might not be able to go outside and have some nice food. But that's okay! Nice food can come to you! DoorDash is a great way to support local restaurants with safe, no-contact delivery. Get $7 off your first three orders over $20 when you sign up with this link: drd.sh/dTgALL/ Get $5 credit FREE when you join Kogan Mobile through the url below! Kogan has some of the best credit prices available, and you can get the first month free. So there is no good reason not to switch! kogan.com/au/r/VKZQBG/ Want an app that helps you save money on your online purchases? If you join Honey you can use all kinds of official vouchers and rewards through Honey! Use this link to join free today! joinhoney.com/ref/wol5yrl If you would like to supplement your virtual experiences of Japan with real life, wearable objects, you could try perusing my online store. I try to keep my prices reasonable, and my products a blend of the fun and practical:

If you've been finding my blog posts entertaining or helpful, I hope you'll consider making a contribution of your choosing to my PayPal pool, through the link below. I'm currently saving up so I can repay my student debt as quickly as possible, and unfortunately the ads in this blog aren't paying off. Forming these blog posts takes time, and while I take great pleasure in it, I still find I need to make a living. So, anything you could give would mean a lot to me: paypal.me/pools/c/89Ab7XEzQ9



28 views0 comments
bottom of page