top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShona McCarthy

Kabuki Transformation Experience - Kinosaki

Recently I was researching kabuki costumes for a customer in my Etsy store when I came across an exciting tourist experience!

Travel to Kinosaki in Hyōgo Prefecture and you can go for a full Kabuki experience for 499,000 yen. You will be dressed in genuine kabuki makeup and costume, taught how to do some real kabuki moves and photos will be taken of you. Did I mention that all of this happens in one of the oldest kabuki theatres still in use in Japan? This is an experience that is unique to Kinosaki and, as far as I've been able to find, aside from one in Shinjuku, though that experience does not seem to be held in a historical theatre. If you would like to book, please see this page.


The theatre itself is beautifully maintained in its original condition. It is used throughout November for a range of stage shows. So if you would like to see a kabuki play during your stay in Kinosaki, November would be the best time to go. You can learn more about when these performances are held here.

In fact, Kinosaki is full of wonderful Edo Period landmarks and artefacts that would be a lot of fun to visit. You can see a town map with important landmarks here. You can view the official website of the area with tourist information here.

If you would like to supplement your experiences of Japan with real life, wearable objects, you could try perusing my online store. I try to keep my prices reasonable, and my products a blend of the fun and practical:

Now is your chance to win a beautiful box of 20 traditional Japanese food goodies! Click the image to enter!

If you've been finding my blog posts entertaining or helpful, I hope you'll consider making a contribution of your choosing to my PayPal pool, through the link below. I'm currently saving up so I can repay my student debt as quickly as possible, and unfortunately the ads in this blog aren't paying off. Forming these blog posts takes time, and while I take great pleasure in it, I still find I need to make a living. So, anything you could give would mean a lot to me: paypal.me/pools/c/89Ab7XEzQ9

You might not be able to go outside and have some nice food. But that's okay! Nice food can come to you! DoorDash is a great way to support local restaurants with safe, no-contact delivery. Get $7 off your first three orders over $20 when you sign up with this link: drd.sh/dTgALL/


Get $5 credit FREE when you join Kogan Mobile through the url below! Kogan has some of the best credit prices available, and you can get the first month free. So there is no good reason not to switch! kogan.com/au/r/VKZQBG/


Want an app that helps you save money on your online purchases? If you join Honey you can use all kinds of official vouchers and rewards through Honey! Use this link to join free today! joinhoney.com/ref/wol5yrl


Want to get $10 off your first order with Uber Eats? Just use my code eats-shonam894ue and we'll both get $10 free with Uber Eats! Why not put a little food in both our stomachs today?





18 views0 comments
bottom of page