top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShona McCarthy

Guest House Makuya

Updated: Mar 16, 2021


Of the places I stayed in Japan, one of the most Authentic and enjoyable was the Guest House Makuya. But since room prices start at $41 per night including use of communal bathrooms and kitchens, I would say it is well worth it for the value, too.

(Images borrowed from lastminute.com.au.)


As you can see in the photos, the place offers you a very traditional sensation of Japanese culture. But I would say the style is more wabi-sabi and similar to a hostel atmosphere than you would find in most ryokans. A tip I will offer you is that you should travel light when you go. There is no stairway or elevator directly to the second floor, so all heavy bags will have to be carried manually up through that raised room in the middle and then up some traditional stairs. This is not the fault of anyone. It's just something you want to be careful about when you go. And it is so worth it. And the plentiful-ness of laundromats in Japan make it needless for you to take so much anyway.


The host was even nice enough to show me a collection of Japanese books and even samples of beautiful old fabrics.

The location is in the middle of a Kyoto district that is not too loud, and where there are bus stops near by, so travelling around town isn't too challenging. But since there are interesting things to see on each street, even going for a simple walk can be a pleasure.


If you would like to supplement your virtual experiences of Japan with real life, wearable objects, you could try perusing my online store. I try to keep my prices reasonable, and my products a blend of the fun and practical:

If you've been finding my blog posts entertaining or helpful, I hope you'll consider making a contribution of your choosing to my PayPal pool, through the link below. I'm currently saving up so I can repay my student debt as quickly as possible, and unfortunately the ads in this blog aren't paying off. Forming these blog posts takes time, and while I take great pleasure in it, I still find I need to make a living. So, anything you could give would mean a lot to me: paypal.me/pools/c/89Ab7XEzQ9


You might not be able to go outside and have some nice food. But that's okay! Nice food can come to you! DoorDash is a great way to support local restaurants with safe, no-contact delivery. Get $7 off your first three orders over $20 when you sign up with this link: drd.sh/dTgALL/


Get $5 credit FREE when you join Kogan Mobile through the url below! Kogan has some of the best credit prices available, and you can get the first month free. So there is no good reason not to switch! kogan.com/au/r/VKZQBG/

Want an app that helps you save money on your online purchases? If you join Honey you can use all kinds of official vouchers and rewards through Honey! Use this link to join free today! joinhoney.com/ref/wol5yrl



15 views0 comments
bottom of page