top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShona McCarthy

Don't Drink on Trains in Taiwan

You might not be able to go out, but you can boost your immune system:

While I was in Taiwan, I got to see the inside of multiple train stations and the train system itself. It was all more beautiful, clean and sophisticated than what I was accustomed to seeing in Australia. By this point, I hadn’t yet gone to Japan. I had only seen parts of China and Taiwan itself. But even now, after everything I've seen, the train systems in Asia seem slightly magical and marvelous to me.

(Various shots I took in and around train stations in Taiwan, 2014.)

There was a moment when I sat with a friend in a station. We drank water out of a strange jug. It shot the water out of the spout when we pressed a plunger down in the top. While I sat in one of the trains I was very thirsty. I wanted to drink water from a bottle in my bag. In Australia, it’s only against the rules to eat and drink on a bus, and even then they will allow it so long as it’s water. I had thought the trains in Taiwan would have a similar rule. But an old lady in a beautiful Chinese dress scolded me when I took a swig from my bottle. “It’s only water.” I told her. “You can’t drink here.” She repeated.

I don’t remember much else. I really regret not being so photo crazy on that trip as I am these days. Back then I used to think I'd be happier just remembering the trip in my head. I had seen so little of the world that even a trip to a mall still seemed like a magical mystery tour to me. Now these few scant images seem like a window into a world I once knew.


You might not be able to go outside and have some nice food. But that's okay! Nice food can come to you! DoorDash is a great way to support local restaurants with safe, no-contact delivery. Get $7 off your first three orders over $20 when you sign up with this link: drd.sh/dTgALL/


Help me, Help you!

Get $5 credit FREE when you join Kogan Mobile through this url! I'll get $5 credit, too! Kogan has some of the best credit prices available, and you can get the first month free. So there is no good reason not to switch! Share this link with your friends and they will get $5 free, too! kogan.com/au/r/VKZQBG/


4 views0 comments
bottom of page