top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShona McCarthy

A Park In Japan (公園)


Something I noticed when I last visited Japan was how pristine the parks were. Even in small, local parks, local councils build public bathrooms that look so much nicer than those I've seen in Australia. That isn't to say that the hygiene inside is perfect. I recommend you bring your own flushable wipes and some fragrant oil, which I sprinkled whenever I had to use a public bathroom.

I had a chance to visit one such park close to YAMAMOTO Roketsu dyeing studio. It was called Umazukajido Park (午塚児童公園).

(Pictures from a park and public restroom in Japan. I was there 2019.) But I was still struck but how beautiful the architecture itself was. I also felt it might be interesting for people to know what parks in Japan look like. I found it was pleasant to simply sit in one eating some bread and listening to music.

(An old friend of mine entertains children in a park in 2019.)


Something I've learned is that Japanese parks are distinct in that they tend to preserve equipment from earlier periods, so that they evoke a sense of nostalgia in the visitors. It's considered important that you use the bins in Japanese park and do not litter.

Fun fact; Japan opened its first national parks in 1873.


You might not be able to go outside and have some nice food. But that's okay! Nice food can come to you! DoorDash is a great way to support local restaurants with safe, no-contact delivery. Get $7 off your first three orders over $20 when you sign up with this link: drd.sh/dTgALL/

Get $5 credit FREE when you join Kogan Mobile through the url below! Kogan has some of the best credit prices available, and you can get the first month free. So there is no good reason not to switch! kogan.com/au/r/VKZQBG/

Want an app that helps you save money on your online purchases? If you join Honey you can use all kinds of official vouchers and rewards through Honey! Use this link to join free today! joinhoney.com/ref/wol5yrl

5 views0 comments
bottom of page